header

The Dynamics of Serial Outbidding (Überbietung)

Sub-Project 4

Because commercial series are in constant competition with one another, they are forced to engage in a continual reflection on their possibilities for variation. A prominent strategy of competitive self-reflection employs the logic of one-upmanship, or outbidding (Überbietung), i.e. the repeated intensification of successfully established strategies of distinction. If such intra- and interserial contest—or the competition between and within series—does not follow a linear escalatory logic, this has a great deal to do with the ability of popular series to translate intensifications of an often quantitative nature into qualitative effects or, conversely, to use qualitative variation for the purpose of outbidding.

The linkage between competitive intensifications and aesthetic differentiations is particularly prominent in American "Quality TV" series since around 1990. These series proclaim an explicit (meta-serial) awareness of their position in the history of serial narration. Thus, the label "Quality TV" itself performs an act of outbidding in the field of popular seriality, one that points beyond this field and complicates its differentiation from other fields of cultural practice, such as canonized art (compare, for example, the oeuvre-oriented programming policy implied in the notion of "rewatchability").

Our project asks which effects, conceptions, and attributions of serial quality accompany the historical reflexivity of competitive intensifications in contemporary American television. We do not mean to depict all self-recursive innovations as acts of outbidding but will develop a comparative method centered on the schema of quantity / quality. In this manner, a specific mode of serial self-observation becomes describable, one whose historical dynamics has effected ongoing reconfigurations in the relation of commercial popular culture to the field of canonized art.


Director: Prof. Dr. Frank Kelleter, American Studies, FU Berlin
Research Associate: Dr. Andreas Sudmann, Media Studies, FU Berlin

Die Dynamik serieller Überbietung: Zeitgenössische amerikanische Fernsehserien und das Konzept des Quality TV

Teilprojekt 4

Da kommerzielle Serien in konstanten Konkurrenzverhältnissen stehen, sind sie zur laufenden Reflexion ihrer Variationsmöglichkeiten gezwungen. Eine prominente Strategie hierzu ist Überbietung, d.h. die nochmalige Steigerung erfolgreich etablierter Distinktionsmerkmale. Dass der intra- und interserielle Wettbewerb, also die Selbst- und Fremdkonkurrenz von Serien, dennoch keiner linearen Eskalationslogik folgt, hat viel mit deren Fähigkeit zu tun, solche (oft quantitativen) Steigerungen in qualitative Effekte zu übersetzen bzw. qualitative Variationen in Überbietungsfunktion zu nutzen.

Bei amerikanischen 'Qualitätsfernsehserien' seit ca. 1990 tritt die Verflechtung wettbewerbsorientierter Steigerungen mit ästhetischen Differenzierungen besonders deutlich hervor. Diese Serien behaupten ein explizites (metaserielles) Bewusstsein ihrer Position in der Geschichte seriellen Erzählens. Das Label Quality TV formuliert somit selbst einen Überbietungsanspruch im Feld populärer Serialität, der über dieses Feld hinausweist und seine Abgrenzung zu anderen Feldern kultureller Praxis kompliziert (vgl. die werkästhetisch orientierte Programmpolitik der rewatchability).

Das TP fragt, welche Effekte, Verständnisse oder Zuschreibungen serieller Qualitätsentwicklung mit der historischen Reflexivität konkurrenzgerichteter Steigerungen im zeitgenössischen US-Fernsehen einhergehen. Dabei bezeichnen wir nicht jede selbstrekursive Innovation als Überbietung, sondern bieten ein durch das Schema Quantität/Qualität eingeschränktes Vergleichsverfahren an. Hierdurch wird ein spezifischer Modus serieller Selbstbeobachtung beschreibbar, dessen historische Dynamik bis zu Konstellationsverschiebungen im Verhältnis von Populärkultur und Kunst bzw. Bildungskultur reicht.


Leiter: Prof. Dr. Frank Kelleter, American Studies, FU Berlin
Bearbeiter: Dr. Andreas Sudmann, Medienwissenschaft, FU Berlin