header

Forms and Practices of Seriality in the ARD Police Procedural Tatort

Sub-Project 1

The police procedural Tatort, aired by public broadcaster ARD and tailored to the federal organization of regional public broadcasters in Germany, has been in production since 1970. The series therefore lends itself particularly well to an investigation of popular seriality by means of both synchronic and diachronic comparisons. The research project develops an analytical grid (or "raster") for serial practices employed by Tatort, systematizing these practices according to their function (particularly as strategies of distinction). With the help of this grid, a history of serial forms and practices can be reconstructed for Tatort both within the serial arcs produced by particular regional broadcasters and in the overall program with regard to the inter-serial competition of broadcasters.

Furthermore, the research project analyzes reviews of select serial arcs in national daily and weekly newspapers in order to identify continuity and change in the public standards of successful seriality. Insofar as the series' reception reflects and guides conceptual reorientations, it has always been influential on the program's aesthetics. This is true for Tatort's adjustments to changing times and target audiences as well as for its regional differentiations. The project investigates this feedback between serial reception and serial aesthetics.

Altogether, our diachronic and synchronic analysis of the police procedural Tatort aims to draw conclusions about the conditions and forms of serial variation that can be generalized for other serial formats as well.


Director: Prof. Dr. Claudia Stockinger, German Philology, Göttingen
Fellow: Prof. Dr. Stefan Scherer, German Philology, Karlsruhe
Research Associate: Dr. Christian Hißnauer, German Philology, Göttingen

Formen und Verfahren der Serialität in der ARD-Reihe Tatort

Teilprojekt 1

Die auf die föderale Organisation der Sender hin zugeschnittene ARD-Krimireihe Tatort läuft seit 1970. Sie ist deshalb besonders gut dafür geeignet, historische Verfahren der populären Serialität sowohl in synchronen als auch in diachronen Vergleichen zu untersuchen. Das TP zielt erstens darauf ab, ein Analyseraster für die Serialitätsverfahren der Reihe Tatort zu erstellen und diese Verfahren mit Blick auf ihre Funktion (insbesondere als Distinktionsstrategien) zu systematisieren. Anhand dieses Rasters wird die Geschichte der Formen und Verfahren der Serialität sowohl innerhalb einzelner Tatort-Serien als auch innerhalb der gesamten Reihe im interseriellen Wechselspiel der Sendeanstalten dargestellt.

Zweitens erforscht das TP die Fernsehkritiken überregionaler Tages- und Wochenzeitungen zu den ausgewählten Serien. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage nach Kontinuität und Wandel in den Maßstäben für erfolgreiche Gestaltung von Serialität. Die Rezeption hat insofern produktions- und damit serienästhetische Konsequenzen, als sie konzeptionelle Neuausrichtungen reflektiert und steuert. Dies gilt für die Anpassung an veränderte Zeitverhältnisse und Zielgruppen ebenso wie für regionalspezifische Differenzierungen. Auf diese Weise nimmt das TP die Rückkopplungen zwischen Rezeption und serieller Ästhetik in den Blick.

Insgesamt zielt die diachrone und synchrone Analyse der Krimireihe Tatort auf verallgemeinerbare Aussagen über Bedingungen und Formen serieller Variation insgesamt und trägt damit zu einer Leitfrage der Forschergruppe bei.


Leiterin: Prof. Dr. Claudia Stockinger, Germanistik, Göttingen
Fellow: Prof. Dr. Stefan Scherer, Germanistik, Karlsruhe
Bearbeiter: Dr. Christian Hißnauer, Germanistik, Göttingen