header

Quotidian Integration and Social Positioning of Pulp Novels (Heftromane) and Television Series

Sub-Project 6

This project investigates patterns through which users integrate serial narratives into daily practices, fan communities, and other fields of action close to everyday life. It pays special attention to the sign-character of objects and practices of popular seriality: To what extent are activities and things indicators of "taste"? How are they employed as symbolic means of social positioning?

Within the framework of comparative ethnographic studies, we examine the dynamics that structure the ways consumers experience popular series and, at the same time, use them to position themselves in their everyday relations to others. Two case studies investigate these questions: a pulp novel series (Perry Rhodan) and a television program (Tatort). The project investigates the practices, enactments, perceptions, and evaluations of seriality by the involved actors. We compare systematically: How are the aforementioned series used, in combination with which other cultural activities and in what contexts? How do various types of users relate to various forms of seriality, and how do they integrate them into their daily lives? What practical and discursive strategies of (de)legitimation are pursued? How is seriality linked to institutionalization and canonization (reader and viewer groups, fan culture)?

In the larger context of the Research Unit, this project illuminates seriality as a social practice that can take on different forms in different cultural fields. In so doing, the project sheds light on aspects of social and cultural distinction achieved through the individual use of series or through activities in series-related communities.


Directors:

Research Associates:

Alltagsintegration und soziale Positionierung von Heft- und Fernsehserien

Teilprojekt 6

Das TP untersucht Muster der Einbindung von Serien-Rezeption in Alltagspraxen, Fanszenen und andere alltagsnahe Handlungsfelder. Dabei gilt dem Zeichencharakter von Objekten und Praktiken populärer Serialität besondere Aufmerksamkeit: Inwieweit sind Handlungen und Sachen Indikatoren für 'Geschmack'? Wie werden sie als symbolische Mittel der sozialen Positionierung genutzt?

Im Rahmen ethnographischer Erfassung fragen wir nach den Positionierungsdynamiken des alltagseingebundenen Erlebens von und Umgangs mit populären Serien. Dazu werden zwei Fallstudien – zu einer Romanheftserie (Perry Rhodan) und zu einer TV-Reihe (Tatort) – vergleichend kombiniert. Das TP untersucht Praktizierung, Inszenierung, Wahrnehmung und Bewertung von Serialität durch die beteiligten Akteure. Es vergleicht systematisch: Wie werden die genannten Serien genutzt, in Kombination mit welchen anderen Kulturangeboten und in welchen Kontexten? Wie beziehen sich unterschiedliche Typen von Nutzern auf die unterschiedlichen Serialitätsformen der Produkte und wie bauen sie sie in den Alltag ein? Welche praktischen und diskursiven (De-)Legitimierungsstrategien werden verfolgt? Wie ist Serialität mit Institutionalisierung und Kanonisierung (Leser- und Zuschauergruppen, Fankultur) verknüpft?

Im Gesamt der Forschergruppe erhellt das TP Serialität als eine soziale Praxis, die in differenten kulturellen Feldern unterschiedliche Gestalt annimmt. Zugleich schafft das TP Aufschluss über Aspekte der sozialen und kulturellen Distinktion durch individuelle Seriennutzung bzw. durch Handeln in serienbezogenen Szenen.


Leiter/in:

Bearbeiterinnen: